Welcome to Organisational Life


Ok, so this is my first post. It feels good, and slightly strange…

Professionally, I guess I’d say that I’m a psychologist that works in change management and organisational development. Broadly speaking, that is.  Outside of work I have a beautiful wife and two fantastic kids (or is that a fantastic wife and 2 beautiful kids) and compete in masters swimming. Last year I was British Champion in 3 events and 5th in the world in one.

How I got here: I started off in IT, doing vaguely technical work on big (SAP) systems implementations but that was never going to be me. I took a couple of years out to become a sport psychologist, which was great, but I find organisational issues and dynamics more interesting that individual performance, so I went back into consulting. I worked in People and Change consulting for a few years before joining Apter International – from a 600-ish to a 4 person practice – thanks to my interest in Reversal Theory (which is a general theory of motivation and emotion). There I headed up Employee Research and Psychometrics, did both qualitative and quantitative projects, and became really interested in things like Employee Engagement.

I’m currently managing change at a much bigger company.

I guess the reason I’m blogging now is that I’m a thinker, quite a critical one too and, to be honest, it isn’t something that is valued where I am right now. So I need an outlet.

I’ll be blogging about organisational life – employee engagement, psychology, motivation, leadership and change. As well as a load of other things, I expect. A bog influence on my thinking is Michael Apter’s Reversal Theory, so I’ll blog about that too.

I hope to be quite challenging, so expect to be challenged back. Please leave comments!

Many thanks
Rob

About Rob Robson
Change manager and organisational development professional with a special interest in employee engagement and motivation. Masters swimmer

2 Responses to Welcome to Organisational Life

  1. Rob,

    I can completely appreciate your need to utilize your critical thinking and to find an acceptable outlet! I faced those types of challenges with my previous organization, and that was one of the things that really drove me to create my own company; one where I can help to foster that type of thinking in not only myself, but in those around me. I look forward to continuing to follow you and your thoughts!

Leave a comment